The World According to Humphrey

It's my party, and I'll laugh if I want to.

  • Be entertained, be very entertained. Sign up, won't you?

    Join 5 other followers

  • tweet tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Looking for something?

10 years later.

Posted by humphreysworld on September 11, 2011

It was 3:54am in the morning of September 11, 2001 when my phone rang. My friend Jaclyn who was in Wisconsin woke me with some alarming news. ‘Something is happening in New York, I think a bomb went off’. Just two weeks prior to this, she and I were working together in Washington, DC and so even though we were good friends, I thought the call was out of character. After a minute of laying there I thought I’d better get up to see what was happening.

Nothing could prepare me for what I saw next. Or the impact these events would have on the world.

America was under attack (and in many ways still is). The images from this day are forever etched into my mind. I will never forget how I felt when, watching the news unfold about the first building, I watched another plane hit the second tower. I will never forget the acts of desperation as people jumped from nearly 100 stories up to their death, undoubtedly coming to the conclusion that their last minutes on earth were better spent flying free through the air than burning a slow death. I will never forget watching the towers come down. I will never forget wondering if my old roommate, who worked at the Pentagon, was there when the plane hit. I will never forget the feeling of helplessness, terror, disbelief, grief, and sadness for the lives that were lost and the ones that were forever changed at 8:46 that morning.

I’m not sure anyone will ever forget.

…..

I wrote this post a few times before omitting most of what I wanted to say. There is so much about our world that has changed because of what happened that day, and most of it has not been good. Living in the Washington, D.C. area I will admit that I live with a sense of fear that prior to that day, was never my reality. I sit here at home instead of out with friends because of this fear. But today I have decided to put my politics and beliefs aside. Not because I don’t believe it matters, but because the people who have died as a result of the days’ events and subsequent wars afterwards played no role in the events that led up to 9/11 and everything happened afterwards. Instead I will choose to use this space to say a prayer to the families transformed by that day, to think of my good friend and her family who lost her brother/son in Iraq, a war we wouldn’t be in had it not been for 9/11. And I would like to give thanks for my health and friends and family who I am so grateful to have in my life.

The events that day changed each of us in a profound way, good or bad. It’s important to remember and mourn, and even more important to listen. It’s my personal belief that there’s not enough of that these days; perhaps if we did maybe our world would look a little different. If you have thoughts, comments, quotes, etc. you would like to share please comment on this post.

xoxo, Dionna

Leave a Reply

 
