The World According to Humphrey

It's my party, and I'll laugh if I want to.

  • Be entertained, be very entertained. Sign up, won't you?

    Join 5 other followers

  • tweet tweet

    • MAJOR fail by the @AFLCIO for endorsing the Dakota pipeline. Culture and the environment mean nothing I guess. Just gross.ho hum... 10 months ago
    • @Denmuh same! Check your DM, I sent some suggestionsho hum... 11 months ago
    • Sigh. @larrywilmore I ❤️ u but it's not bigotry to ask for a safe space. Feeling safe in your home is important & sometimes we aren't w/themho hum... 11 months ago
  • Looking for something?

Giving back.

Posted by humphreysworld on November 24, 2010

Most of you may not know this (including my family), but once upon a time I was homeless. I’ll spare you the details of exactly how it came to be (if you want to know the sordid tale, I’ll tell you over a beer), but I found myself without a place to sleep. I had a job, and unlike many homeless people, I was not a drug addict, and could not be classified as crazy. But I had a job that didn’t pay well and I couldn’t afford rent anywhere. So I crashed where I could. Sometimes at a friends house, sometimes I slept at work, sometimes I stayed awake all night at my favorite table at Dennys. All these years later I still remember how being without a home made me feel. Needless to say, homelessness is an issue I care deeply about, so I thought I would take this time to give thanks for my health and the health and well-being of my family and friends, but to also give you some options for giving back.

Every year, Goldstar does a partners with the Capital Area Food Bank to provide Thanksgiving dinner for low-income seniors. Often time these folks sacrifice food and nutrition to pay for the basics, and this programs gives them a healthy, hearty Thanksgiving dinner. I just bought a couple dinners, and for $15 you can too. Click the link above to get more information.

My friend Rose is kind of a rock star. She is baking- count them- 50-70 loaves of pumpkin bread for her local soup kitchen! Amazing! And she and her family volunteer every year on Thanksgiving.  If you’re interested in volunteering for a soup kitchen in your area, check out the volunteer database at Dosomething.org, or google it to find one in your area.

I have some friends who participated in last weekend’s walk for the homeless in D.C. (who also rock my world). Fannie Mae also has one every year (to show they are the good guys, of course), as do many cities around the country. It’s too late to register now, but you can A) bookmark it for next year and B) get involved in other ways. Find out here.

I am grateful for so much, particularly of my friends who have given me so much, and who are doing their part to give back to the world. This post isn’t meant to be a sob story or a guilt trip, but to encourage you to do something if you have the means or the time.  Happy turkey (or tofurkey, if that’s your thing) day folks, be safe, be happy, and be thankful. I know I am.

2 Responses to “Giving back.”

  1. Rose said

    OMG I MADE YOUR POST!! I kinda feel famous and cool right now!! haha. The total count was 78 loaves. How blessed are we, my friend, to have a roof over our heads, people who love us, food in our fridge, and the desire and means to give back? Sometimes the shitty things in life cloud our vision, but overall, life is good. Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  2. yes I agree. And I always wish I could do more. But I am so lucky to have people in my life like you who do for others. It inspires me to be better! Happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

 
