The World According to Humphrey

It's my party, and I'll laugh if I want to.

  • Be entertained, be very entertained. Sign up, won't you?

    Join 4 other followers

  • tweet tweet

    • @Crabby_2 cutie! That's so wonderful that you rescued her! I can't stand neglectful pet owners- grrrr!!!ho hum... 2 months ago
    • @Crabby_2 hahaha will do! Women can do just about anything but damn! Everything good with you?ho hum... 2 months ago
    • @Crabby_2 darling! Life has been so crazy & managing 2 accts is impossible. I need 2 me's!! How are you? Happy new year! Xoxoxoho hum... 2 months ago
  • Looking for something?

MTV’s Big FAT problem.

Posted by humphreysworld on January 19, 2011

August 1, 1981. I was there when MTV aired the first video. The Buggles, Video Killed the Radio Star. I know it’s hard to believe, but once upon a time MTV played music videos(the ‘m’ is for music, you know) . Nowadays however, MTV is filled with alleged reality shows. Shows about Jersey Shore’s drunken crabs-filled antics, dating people’s moms, and let’s not forget how they’ve managed to turn a sad tragedy like pregnant teens into celebrities. But a new show debuted recently called ‘I Used to be Fat’, and I happened to come across a preview for the next show one very bored and particularly lazy Saturday morning.

caption courtesy of MTV

Now I don’t have a problem with people going through their weight loss ups and downs for the camera. I’ve seen marriages break up, births, mental breakdowns- this is the state of television today. However the message of this particular episode struck a cord with me.  Mackenzie, a recent high school graduate felt she was ugly because she was fat and that no one would want to love her because of it. And I have a bone to pick with that.

You see, I’m fat.

And as a single girl who happens to fall in the above category, I take exception to Mackenzie assuming she is doomed to be alone.  EVERYONE deserves love.  Mackenzie was not only pretty, but witty, smart and ambitious. Admirable qualities anyone would adore. Yet even her own father was convinced that she couldn’t have the fairy tale wedding of her dreams because she wasn’t pretty (a.k.a she was fat and therefore gross). Being healthy should be a priority for everyone, no doubt. Could I stand to shed a few pounds? Absolutely. Judging from the preview of Mackenzie’s eating habits she could certainly stand to incorporate some healthier foods into her diet. I’m willing to bet we all could. I take exception to people who assume that because you fall into the category of plus you are lazy, eat shitty foods and don’t care about your health. I personally work out 3-4 times a week, eat 4-5 servings of fruits and veggies almost every day and take care of myself. Not only that, but I have a good career, friends who I enjoy and I date. Don’t get me wrong. I, and I’m sure countless others have felt like Mackenzie. And I know I’ve gone out with some men who have treated me like shit because they assume I could get no other. But those men treat most women like shit and are not worth my, Mackenzie’s or anyone else’s time. There are many men and women in the world who are skinny and are thieves, liars, cheats, lazy- being skinny does not mean you are good and therefore deserving of love, any more than being fat means you don’t.

Mackenzie should get healthy because she wants to, not because she won’t find love. Americans eat a lot of shit. And it needs to change. Sugar and crappy, low quality foods are everywhere. If you’re poor, eating healthy is even less of a reality. I am not defending eating poorly, being unhealthy, or anything of the sort and I dare anyone to challenge my position otherwise. But what I am challenging is the notion that you have to be a size 4 to find love and happiness.

And if you don’t like it you can kiss my fat ass.

2 Responses to “MTV’s Big FAT problem.”

  1. And for those of you who didn’t get it, this post has nothing to do with Mackenzie losing weight. This has to do with Mackenzie losing weight because she thinks she’s not beautiful and won’t find happiness. She had a lot to offer any man, and being skinny does not equate being a good person or worthy of love. THAT was the point, in case you missed it.

  2. The Yapper said

    Very well said!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

